Weekly Round Up – Week 4

It’s Thursday again, so you know what that means! It’s time for the Weekly Round Up!

It’s now been a month since we started back at college and yet somehow it feels like we’ve been back for even longer – the days have started to fly past! It’s a bit disconcerting actually. There’s only 3 months (and a bit) until Christmas! I’m pretty sure it happened fairly recently…though I still think the millennium was only about 5 years ago so my clock is a teeny bit off…

So anyway, this week we’ve had a couple of check days for photojournalism and fashion, and been able to do some more playing around with the studio lights. We were doing more posing today and I know for a fact there are a number of photos that aren’t able to be show due to the sheer madness of the facial expressions that were pulled at times. But that’s what makes it all so much fun!

For most of the week I have just been gathering research images and doing write-ups for the first two deadlines that will be coming up next week and I imagine my September weekend will be filled with the same, lots of writing. I think I’m starting to get into the groove more now though. I feel as though I’m able to pick photographs apart a bit better and while I have yet to do a lighting diagram and discuss studio lighting (God help me), the rest has been painless. Here’s hoping I can keep this up for the rest of the semester/year.

Another thing we did this week was the ‘Spaceship’ exercise where we were asked to take 5 photographs of things we would miss if we were sent to space and couldn’t see or eat the things we would normally do on Earth. I had a few ideas of the things I wanted to photograph, such as the view from one specific cemetery bench in Stirling, or the University itself as a very large and important part of my life was the four years I spent there.  However, the thought of travelling into Stirling on a day when I was incredibly tired was less than appealing so I instead thought about what I could photograph near where I currently live. My living relations aren’t too fond of having their photographs taken so that cut that aspect out of it, so I opted to look for things that evoked memories of happier times.

I won’t add them into the post as they aren’t amazing images (though one of them is the featured image for this post), but as silly as it might be to photograph a redwood tree or a drawing of a dead dog, it does bring up many memories of when I was a fair bit younger and was more carefree and before I became such a grumpy pessimist, haha.

So, that’s all for this week. I don’t have any shoots planned for the next few days but that could easily change. You never know what might happen or the sights you will see.

Leave a Reply

