Documentary – Pt. 2

Week two of knowing what I’m doing for documentary and, much as I hate to admit it, I haven’t made a lot of progress with it just yet as other deadlines are coming up and are requiring my attention for the time being.

I did spend a little time today looking into 2 research photographers whose work I could draw inspiration from and I think I have made a decision on who those two are after having a quick chat with my tutor.

Currently they are Oscar Marzaroli (you may remember him from one of my posts last week) and Thomas Annan. Both were well known for taking photographs of the large cities of Scotland – predominantly Glasgow – and the people who lived there. While my project won’t feature a large presence of people (or perhaps any) I think that they correlate with my project as they documented the areas at a specific point in time. Certainly in the case of Marzaroli, he was able to photograph the demolition of the Slums of Glasgow before the area was modernised into the city we know today. I’m hoping my own images will do similar. While there may not be demolitions going on, I want to document some locations as they are now, and use those to contrast with the images and or information we have about those places from further back in our history.

I also learned a little bit more about one of the locations I am planning on photographing earlier on in the week. I follow the BlantyreProject on Facebook and their blog and, lucky for me, there was a post about the Greenfield area of Hamilton. As I am looking into the Old Colliers Rows in the area, I was able to ask Paul Veverka (a very talented local historian who runs the page) for a bit more information which he kindly shared with me.  Having that little bit of information has helped to answer a couple of questions I have had personally about why my family may have moved house when they did, but also allows me add an extra detail or two about the location for my project. If you’re from the Blantyre/Burnbank/Hamilton area, I’d urge you to check out the BlantyreProject as it is highly informative and offers a view into what the areas were like throughout history.

So that’s all for now. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

